Four Past Presidents and three rotarians, all members of the “Nicosia Rotary Club”,took the initiative in  creating  the Rotary Club of Nicosia-Lefkothea :

PP Michalakis Triantafyllides, PP Joseph Hadjijoseph, PP Andreas Pattichis, PP Felix Cirilli de Nores, Rot. Pangalos Zachariades, Rot. Demetris Kalavanas and Rot. Loukis Pattihis.

Initial discussions begun in May 1987, with the enthusiastic support and assistance of the Past District Governor of Rotary Area 2450 Phoebus Zachariades.The following rotarians acted as the Extension Committee for the formation of the Club: F. Cirilli, M. Triantafyllides, A. Pattichis, J. Hadjijoseph, P. Zachariades, together with the President of the Nicosia Rotary Club Renos Clerides. Special Representative was the Past District Governor Phoebus Zachariades.

First President of the Club was Michael Triantafyllides and first Secretary Pangalos Zachariades.

The extension committee selected new members and so the Founder Members became 31 in total.  Approval was asked on 19 October 1987 and was given by the Rotary International on 15 December 1987. The Charter  was presented on 31 January 1988  by the then District  Governor Dr Gamil Waly to the first President of the Club M. Triantafyllides, in a special Ceremony at the Hilton Hotel, Nicosia.

PDG Phoebus Zachariades was declared Honorary Member of the Club.

The Rotary Club of Nicosia-Lefkothea was founded as the third club in Nicosia, sharing the territory with two other clubs: The Rotary Club of Nicosia (founded in 1938) and the Rotary Club of Nicosia-Ledra (founded in 1982).


From the Charter Night at the Hilton Hotel on 31 January 1988

The 31 Founder Members are the following:

Older Members Classification
Cirilli de Nores Felix (1954) Formerly Motion Pictures-Theatre
Triantafyllides Michalakis (1957) Formerly Judiciary, Supreme Court
Hadjijoseph Joseph (1967) Formerly Broadcasting
Pattichis Andreas (1969) Formerly Novelties Distribution
Zachariades Pangalos (1974) Formerly Gov/nt Fire Extinguishing Service
Kalavanas Demetris (1978) Foodstuffs Importing & Distribution
Kittis Dinos (1984) Marketing Consultancy
Pattihis Loukis (1986) Paper Products Manufacture
New Members 1987 Classification
Achilleoudis Christodoulos    Government Education-Music
Adamou Lambros   Banking-Credit
Argyrou Andreas   Security Services
Christophides George N.   International Trade
Costa Mikis   Accountancy-Taxation Consultancy
Georgallis Costas   Industry-Bedding Manufacture
Gregoriou Andreas   Accountancy-Audit
Hadjijoseph Joseph Ch.   Hotels-Catering
Ioannou Nicos   Medicine-Orthopaedics
Jacovides George   Broadcasting Administration
Kypri Yiannis   Banking-Commercial
Kyriakides Georgios *   Medicine-Surgery Transplant
Makrosellis Mattheos   Luggage Manufucture
Michaelides Glafkos   Medicine-Cardiology
Phanopoulos Phanos   Government Education Secondary
Riris Christos   Medicine-Gynaecology
Sophocleous Andreas   Insurance-Life
Taoushanis Takis   Financial Services
Vatiliotis Philippos   Telecommunications Services
Zachariades Aris   Hotels-Managing
Zachariades Petros   Ship Surveying Services
Zembylas Mikis   Architecture
Zevlaris Solon   Insurance-Life

* Left the Club late in 1987

Members of the Rotary Club of Nicosia-Lefkothea, 14 November 1988